Home    FA    Site Map

Nicosia - Cyprus

Date of Sistercity Contract November 13, 1999
Country Republic of Cyprus
Mayor Constantinos Yiorkadjis
Population (2011) 55,014
Website http://www.nicosia.org.cy/en-GB/home/
Nicosia is the largest city on the island of Cyprus. It is located near the centre of the Mesaoria plain, on the banks of the River Pedieos.
Nicosia is the capital and seat of government of the Republic of Cyprus, and as such is the farthest southeast of all EU member states' capitals. It has been continuously inhabited for over 4,500 years and has been the capital of Cyprus since the 10th century. Nicosia was divided into the southern Greek Cypriot and the northern Turkish Cypriot parts in 1963, following the intercommunal violence that broke out in the city. Today, the northern part of the city is the capital of Northern Cyprus, a de facto state that is considered to be occupied Cypriot territory by the international community.
Apart from its legislative and administrative functions, Nicosia has established itself as the island's financial capital and its main international business centre. In 2012, Nicosia was the 5th richest city in the world in relative purchasing power.
Main attractions
  • AG Leventis Gallery
  • Cyprus Museum
  • Nicosia Municipal Arts Centre
  • Leventis Municipal Museum
  • Ancient Tamassos
  • Maheras Monastery
  • House of Hatzigeorgakis Kornesios
  • Makarios Cultural Foundation
  • Monastery of Agios Irakleidios
  • Omeriye Mosque
  • Shacolas Tower Observatory
  • Ethnographic Museum
  • Pancyprian Gymnasium Museums
  • Famagusta Gate
  • Panagia Chrysaliniotissa
  • National Struggle Museum
  • State Gallery of Cypriot Contemporary Art
  • Chrysaliniotissa Crafts Centre
  • Municipal Gardens
  • Cyprus Classic Motorcycle Museum
  • Venetian Walls
  • Laïki Yitonia
  • Bayraktar Mosque
  • Liberty Monument
  • Faneromeni Church 

Reference: Shiraz Municipality
RelatedContent :